lotterypasob.blogg.se

Football manager 2020 tactics
Football manager 2020 tactics














Chelsea are in the midst of a one-window transfer ban on Football Manager 2020. It’s important that you have a striker that is capable of scoring goals without another striker by his side. How Trent Alexander-Arnold is reinventing the full-back. A personal preference is having my CDM (if it’s in your formation) as a Half Back. What are Football Manager touchline shouts and why should we use them? Football Manager 2020 has a range of set templates and styles but trying to find a healthy balance between them can be like, well, trying to manage a squad of egos and prima donnas.

football manager 2020 tactics

Here, the attacking impetus out wide isn’t on the full-backs but the two wingers, with a Griezmann-like shadow striker sitting behind a Diego Costa-esque deep-lying forward. Smith finished with 25 league goals, narrowly missing out on the golden boot, while Ferguson, on set piece duty, clocked up 13 assists from left back.However, if you are in the lower levels of football, your players don’t have sufficient skill to pull this off. Matt Smith and Shane Ferguson were the big winners for this formation. Defensively, the team finished in mid-table, but the goalscoring threat the team possessed resulted in a few potential defeats being turned into draws. The team bagged the most goals in the league, scoring 100 in 46 games, 15 more than second place Leeds and 16 more than champions Fulham. The results worked well, with promotion earned through the play-offs in my first season, having snuck into 6th place with a great run. Distributing to the full-backs and taking short kicks ensure constant movement on the ball, something I’m keen to encourage. In transition, I’ve gone for a counter-press after losing possession and countering after the ball has been won. On the subject of pressing, I’m playing with a higher line of engagement, extremely urgent pressing to try to win the ball back for some quick counters, and tight marking. I set the team up to be more expressive, giving them more freedom going forward, and set an extremely high tempo to encourage a higher press. We had height up front and in defence so when we sent all those people up, we were a terror from set pieces. To make the most of my target man, I instructed the team to hit early crosses, but the most important tactic I had was to play for set pieces. When in possession, I set the team up to play down both wings, play the ball out of defence, and pass into space. With Smith playing in the Target Man role, winning headers and flicking the ball on, my other striker could get in behind and pounce on any chances. Having Matt Smith made my decision incredibly easy. Besides, most of what I needed these two to do was kick the opposition then ship the ball out wide.įinally, the strike force. This varied depending on who was playing each role.ĭuring pre-season I had experimented with an advanced playmaker, but it left my defence vulnerable too often, and the roaming playmaker is not disciplined enough to drop back when required. A ball winning midfielder and a deep lying playmaker paired up nicely, with one of them set to support and the other defensively. Situated in between them, we need players who will prevent any counter attacks and can break up play. I considered trying to play inverted wingers to cut in and attack the goal, but with both wingers’ stronger feet better suited to crossing, I left the to roam the flanks. We have wingers to get forward, we don’t want to overload the wings and leave ourselves vulnerable.

Football manager 2020 tactics full#

The back four contained a centre back, a ball playing defender, because someone still has to move the ball out of the defence, both set to defend, and two full backs on support. There’s no need for a sweeper keeper as I’m not going to be pushing my centre backs forward – they’re not built for that. Starting off at the back, we have a goalkeeper. Whereas my wing play could be implemented from Day 1. With plenty of sizeable defenders, three big strikers and only a handful of central midfielders, a squad capable of producing a patient, possession-based tiki-taka game would take years to craft.

football manager 2020 tactics

My decision was also influenced by the squad. Attempting to take inspiration from Sir Alex Ferguson more so than Neil Harris, I wanted a team to maximise the height of the defence, and pose a threat higher up the pitch. In other words, a good old-fashioned 4-4-2. Knowing the team in real life, I wanted to have a go at creating a tactic which suited the club and its ethos – fast paced wing play with two strikers and some industrious midfielders. Being in the Championship certainly makes things easier, however a lack of budget still makes it a challenging save. Almost every year, my first save is with them as I look to mix it with the big boys.














Football manager 2020 tactics